Q: What is each type of multiple birth called?

A: The following list gives the type of multiple birth by number of babies involved in the pregnancy:

1 singleton
2 twins
3 triplets
4 quadruplets
5 quintuplets
6 sextuplets
7 septuplets
8 octuplets
9 nonuplets
10 decaplets

Click here for resources and references to accompany our FAQs